Defination of Haram

In Islam, prohibitions on illegal acts or objects are observed by Muslims in accordance to their obedience to the Quranic commands. In Islamic law, dietary prohibitions are said to help with the understanding of divine will.

With specific reference to the flavor industry, it is imperative that no animal and/or insect derivatives/extracts be used, since the sourcing and monitoring of Halaal animal derivatives from the source i.e. the abattoir right through the process is complicated and difficult. Animal derivatives and extracts would include animal fats, animal enzymes, gelatin, blood plasma, tallow-based glycerin, L-Cysteine from human hair, animal stock, animal stearates, cochineal color etc.

In terms of haram meat, Muslims are prohibited from consuming flowing blood. Meats that are considered haram, such as pork, dog, cat, monkey, or any other haram animals, can only be considered lawful in emergencies when a person is facing starvation and his life has to be saved through the consumption of this meat.

Similarly, any animal not ritually slaughtered will also be categorized as Haram (unlawful). Certain meats are deemed haram if the animal is not properly slaughtered. The proper slaughtering process involves cutting the jugular veins of the neck, in order to drain all of the blood out of the fully conscious animal. During the slaughtering process, Allah's name should be recited, by saying "Bismillah" in order to take the animal's life to meet the lawful need of food.

There are a number of Quranic verses regarding the prohibition of meat in Islam:


He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swineflesh, and that which has been immolated to (the name of) any other than God. But he who is driven by necessity, neither craving nor transgressing, it is no sin for him. Lo! God is Forgiving, Merciful.—[Quran 2:173]


Intoxicants are also prohibited in Islam. Khamr is the Arabic word for alcoholic drinks that cause intoxication. The Prophet declared that the prohibition was not only placed on wine, but the prohibition also included beer and other alcoholic beverages that intoxicate a person. The Prophet also forbade the trading of intoxicants, even with non-Muslims. It is not permissible for a Muslim to import or export alcoholic beverages, or to work in or own a place that sells intoxicants. Giving intoxicants as a gift is also considered haram.

Other intoxicants, such as Tobacco, Paan, Dokha, Cigarettes, Khat and Hookah have been deemed forbidden by a number of scholars.

In terms of foods, Nutmeg, Asafetida, Vanilla extract and Gelatin are also forbidden either due to being an intoxicant themselves, containing certain percentages of alcohol or other forbidden items such as pig parts.